TdP: Kittel – the winner, Matysiak in the breakaway.

The German Marcel Kittel from the Dutch team of Skil Shimano triumphed in the first stage of the 68th Tour de Pologne. The young cyclist took the leading in the general classification of the event. The first stage of this year’s Tour de Pologne was a 101.5-kilometre-long distance from Pruszków to Warszawa. The parade start was at 11:20, and five minutes later the cyclists had their massed start.

Almost at once a breakaway formed at the front, where there were two Poles – Adrian Kurek from the representation of Poland and Bartłomiej Matysiak from CCC Polsat Polkowice. Apart from them, the composition of the breakaway included: the Chilean Carlos Oyarzun from Movistar, the French Pierre Cazaux from Euskaltel, the Russian Aleksander Rodrigues Argueles from Katiusza and the Italian Fabio Piscopiello from De Rosa.

The cyclists quickly gained half a minute of advantage, gradually increasing it. As early as in the 10th kilometre the advantage was a minute and a half, and 15 kilometres after the start it grew to two minutes.

In the 21st kilometre, in the Warsaw Ursynów, the first intermediate stage of Fiat was placed. The best one there was Adrian Kurek, winning a bonus of three seconds, the second to finish was Pierre Cazaux, and the third one was Fabio Piscopiello. At that moment the cyclists had two minutes and 50 seconds of advantage over the peloton ruled by Rabobank.

In the 59th kilometre the special bonus of the Warsaw Uprising was located, where Fabio Piscopiello triumphed. The peloton compensated for more and more seconds with each lap.

At the beginning of the sixth lap the escaping cyclists had only one minute of advantage, and Aleksander Rodrigues Argueles tried to break away from the group, however his attack was unsuccessful and he returned to his five companions of the breakaway. In the 78th kilometre the second intermediate stage of Fiat was won by Fabio Piscopiello, Adrian Kurek was the second and the third place was won by Carlos Oyarzun.

At the beginning of the seventh lap the peloton was only 20 seconds behind the escapees. Eventually, the escapees got caught. The climb of the third category in the 91th kilometre was won by Michał Gołaś from Vacansoleil, the second cyclist was Giorgio Brambilla from De Rosa, and the third place was taken by the Spaniard Ion Izagirre from Euskaltel.

In the peloton preparations for the sprint started. At the front of the peloton the teams of Saxo Bank, HTC and Skil Shimano took turns. In the sprinters’ fight the best one was Marcel Kittel from the Dutch Skil Shimano team, the Norwegian Alexander Kristoff from BMC was the second, and Francesco Chicchi from the Belgian Quickstep was the third.

Source: “”