TdP: Kittel wins for the third time, Bodnar in the breakaway.

Marcel Kittel, a cyclist of the Skil-Shimano team has become for the third time the winner of the 3rd stage of the 68th Tour de Pologne. At the final sprint he beat Romain Feillu (Vacansoleil) and Jonas Jörgensen (Saxo Bank). Łukasz Bodnar (CCC Polsat Polkowice) rode excellently, many kilometres of the route within a breakaway.

During the third day of the race the cyclists had a route of 135.7 kilometres to ride, leading from Będzin to Katowice. And like during the previous stages in the 10th kilometre of the route two cyclists broke away from the peloton – Łukasz Bodnar from CCC Polsat Polkowice and Arkimedes Arguelyes from Katiusza, joined by Daniel Sesma from Euskaltel, Gianluca Maggiore from DeRosy and Piotr Gawroński, who is riding in the colours of the representation of Poland.

The breakaways quickly gained an advantage which while entering the laps in Katowice was 5 minutes and 20 seconds. Riding towards the finishing line in Katowice the cyclists were settling the intermediate stages and the only climb – won by Łukasz Bodnar – among themselves.
15 kilometres before the finishing line Bodnar attacked from the lead. His other companions became clearly weaker and they got absorbed by the peloton. The same happened to Łukasz Bodnar too, After entering the last lap the cyclists of the Omega Pharm–Lotto a team started to work hard and they caught up with the escaping alone Bodnar.

Marcel Kittel turned out to be the best at the final sprint, Romain Feillu was second and Jonas Aaen Jorgensen was third, In the 19th position Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) finished. .

In the general classification the 23-year-old Kittel is overtaking Adrian Kurek (Representation of Poland) by 17 seconds and Gianluco Maggiore by 22 seconds. In the 7th place there is Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 25 seconds behind the leader.

Bartłomiej Matysiak is also the leader of the mountains classification of the race.

The results of stage 3, Będzin – Katowice. 135.7 km

1. KITTEL Marcel (Skil Shimano) 3h 09′ 29”
2. FEILLU Romain (Vacansolei) + 00′ 00”
3. JORGENSEN Jonas Aaen (Saxo Bank) + 00′ 00”

108. MATYSIAK Bartłomiej
115. MENDES Jose
118. MORAJKO Jacek
131. TACIAK Mateusz
147. JANIACZYK Błażej
162. BODNAR Łukasz