TdP: Sagan wins, CCC cyclists’ good performance.

The cyclist of the Liquigas-Cannondale team, Peter Sagan, became the winner of stage 4 of the Tour de Pologne race, with the finishing line in Cieszyn. After a fantastic attack in the final metres he beat Daniel Martin (Garmin-Cervelo) and Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil-DCM). Good performance on the part of the CCC Polsat Polkowice team cyclists.

During stage 4 of the race the cyclists had a distance of 177 kilometres to ride. Along the route from Oświęcim to Cieszyn there were four sprint stages and four climbs. The cyclists entered mountainous areas and the first serious uphill stretches started. There was a 10-kilometre long up-the-hill stretch to the Koniakowska Mountain Pass and next the cyclists rode three times through the climb of category 1 at Kubalonka.

From the very beginning it was not calm in the peloton, but none of the cyclists managed to ride away. Only in the 30th kilometre three cyclists rode out of the peloton: Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Polsat Polkowice), Federico Rocchetti (De Rosa-Ceramica Flaminia) and Chad Beyer (BMC Racing). After a few moments Kamil Gradek (the National Team of Poland) attacked out of the peloton and soon he joined the lead. The advantage of the escapees quickly grew bigger and oscillated around five minutes.

Bartek Matysiak, who as the leader of the mountains classification focused on winning more points, rode very well. He won two out of the three bonuses at Kubalonka and thus he strengthened his position of the leader of the mountains classification of the race.

The advantage of the escaping foursome systematically decreased and when the peloton entered the laps in Cieszyn the escapees were already riding in the peloton, and at the front Simon Clarke (Astana) was trying a solitary ride, but he was caught, too, by the rushing peloton.

At the head of the torn peloton the team of Liquigas-Cannondale appeared, working for Peter Sagan. The 21-year-old cyclist attacked a few hundreds of metres before the finishing line, and he did not allow anybody to catch up with him. The second place was taken by the last year’s winner of the Tour, Daniel Martin (Garmin-Cervelo). The third cyclist was Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil-DCM).

In the first group behind the winner, 3 seconds after him Tomasz Marczyński completed the stage in the 17th position, which gave him the 6th position in the general classification.

Peter Sagan became the leader of the general classification, overtaking Marco Marcato by 5 seconds. Romain Feillu jumped onto the third position. The Frenchman is 7 seconds behind the leader. In the 6th place there is the champion of Poland – Tomasz Marczyński (CCC Polsat Polkowice)

The results of stage 4, Oświęcim – Cieszyn, 177 km,

1. Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale 4:21:15
2. Daniel Martin (Irl) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:00:03
3. Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team

17. Tomasz Marczynski
24. Marek Rutkiewicz 0:10
45. Jacek Morajko 0:31
68. José Mendes 0:34
115. Bartłomiej Matysiak 7:28
116. Mateusz Taciak
117. Łukasz Bodnar
156. Błażej Janiaczyk 13:33