The CCC team line-up for the Mountains Championships of Poland

At the weekend, 25-26 August, on the roads around Podgórzyn the Mountains Championships of Poland in road cycling will be held again.

The course of this year’s Mountains Championships of Poland is similar to the one from last year. The riders, both women and men of all categories, are going to compete along the 14.5-kilometre-long circuit from Podgórzyn, through Borowice, Przysieka to Sosnówka Górna, where the finishing line is situated. After the start in Podgórzyn the contestants will ride the 8-kilometre-long distance of access to the circuits, and afterwards each category will have a specific number of circuits to ride. The men elite will have a distance of 124.2 km ( 8 circuits + access).
At the starting line of the race for the title of the Mountains Champion of Poland there will be riders specializing in riding in the mountains from all Polish professional teams, as well as from amateur clubs. Additionally they will be fighting for points for the general classification of BGŻ ProLiga, because this year, for the first time, the Mountains Championships of Poland are on the list of the most important cycling races held in Poland, and they are the penultimate event of that cycle.

The CCC Polsat Polkowice team is going to take part in the race in their full line-up with Marek Rutkiewicz, Mateusz Taciak, Dariusz Batek, Tomasz Kiendyś, Adrian Honkisz, Paweł Charucki, Sylwester Janiszewski, Łukasz Owsian, Piotr Gawroński, Grzegorz Stępniak, Bartek Matysiak and Kamil Zieliński.

The title of the Mountains Champion of Poland will be defended by Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice), who is at the same time the leader of the BGŹ ProLiga cycle. The victory in the race or a higher place than that of the most dangerous rival, Mariusz Witecki, may secure for him the final victory in the whole cycle of BGŻ ProLiga.
The last race of the BGŻ ProLiga cycle will be the criterium in Sokółka – the Memorial of Stanisław Kirpsza which is regarded as the end of the cycling season in Poland. It will be held on 6 October this year.

The general classification of BGZ ProLiga after the Ministry of Defence Cup race.

1. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 313
2. Mariusz Witecki (BGŻTeam) 243
3. Sylwester Janiszewski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 178
4. Tomasz Smoleń (BGŻ Team) 168
5. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 148
6. Bartosz Huzarski (Team NetApp 120
7. Robert Radosz (BDC MarcPol) 109
8. Paweł Cieślik (BGŻ Team) 87
9. Łukasz Bodnar (BGŻ Team) 83
10. Błażej Janiaczyk (BGŻ Team) 83