Three winners of Bałtyk-Karkonosze in the roster for 2016 edition

Leszek Pluciński will defend his title from 2015 in this year’s Bałtyk – Karkonosze Tour. He is part of the 8-man roster for that event, alongside two other winners – Mateusz Taciak (2013) and Nikolay Mihaylov (2012).

24th edition will consist of 7 stages – one of them is prologue in Kołobrzeg and one is an uphill individual time trial to Przełęcz Okraj. First four stages should suit sprinters and they are not expected to make drastic changes in GC.

Last stage of racing will be the decisive one. It will start with a 11-kilometer mountain TT. Last year it was won by Mateusz Taciak and Leszek Pluciński was second. In the afternoon, the riders will tackle short stage – 89 kilometers – but filled with climbing. On the route from Piechowice to Karpacz there are 4 KOMs (Michałowice, Przesieka, Borowice, Przełęcz Kowarska) and the finish line is located at the top of a short hill.

In the absence of Grzegorz Stępniak, who has won 5 stages in the last 3 editions, Eryk Latoń will be the team’s main sprinter. The leader for GC will be selected as late as the final day of competition, after the uphill race against the clock. In the previous years Taciak, Mihaylov and Pluciński did extremely well in this time trial and they are the most likely to fight for the overall win.

After some health issues this season, it’s hard to predict how Maciej Paterski will feel and what is he capable of. He was going to take part in CCC Tour Grody Piastowskie, but due to illness he had to skip that event. He got sick before the one-day race in Frankfurt. Now he is returning to competition.

The roster will be rounded out by Adrian Kurek, Marcin Mrożek and the youngster, Kamil Małecki.

Lineup of CCC Sprandi Polkowice for Bałtyk – Karkonosze Tour (17-22.05, 2.2): Leszek Pluciński, Mateusz Taciak, Nikolay Mihaylov, Maciej Paterski, Eryk Latoń, Adrian Kurek, Marcin Mrożek, Kamil Małecki

Program of Bałtyk – Karkonosze Tour:

17.05.2016 – Prologue Kołobrzeg

18.05.2016 – stage 1 – Kołobrzeg – Chociwel, 193,9 km

19.05.2016 – stage 2 – Kościan – Opalenica, 176,8 km

20.05.2016 – stage 3 – Zbąszynek – Zbąszynek, 137,2 km

21.05.2016 – stage 4 – Kożuchów  – Lubań, 173,6 km

22.05.2016 – stage 5 – Kowary – Przełęcz Okraj, 11,6 km (ITT)

22.05.2016 – stage 6 – Piechowice – Karpacz 89,3 km