Tomasz Marczyński – the new leader of BGŻ ProLiga

Tomasz Marczyński from the group of CCC Polsat Polkowice became the new leader of BGŻ ProLiga after the classic races held at the weekend: the Memorial of Henryk Łasak and Puchar Uzdrowisk Karpackich. Łukasz Bodnar is holding the second place, and Marek Rutkiewicz is third, both from the group of CCC Polsat Polkowice. Before the last race of BGŻ ProLiga it was clear that the title of the winner of the cycle will go to a cyclist of the team from Polkowice.

At the starting line of the Memorial of Henryk Łasak there were 150 cyclists of all the leading Polish groups, and a strong group of cyclists from abroad. The race abounded in breakaways, however the one in the last lap turned out to be the decisive one. Six cyclists decided to attack then, among them two Poles: Tomasz Marczyński (CCC Polsat Polkowice) and Paweł Cieślik (Bank BGŻ). However, cyclists from abroad turned out to be better than Poles, to be precise – from Slovenia. Luca Mezgec (Sava) won before Blaz Furdi (Adria Mobil). The thrid place was taken by Tomasz Marczyński and Paweł Cieślik was the fifth.

A day later the cyclists stood at the starting line of Puchar Uzdrowisk Karpackich. This time Poles got their revenge on the rivals from abroad, taking the first two places. After a finish out of the two-person breakaway the first one to cross the finishing line was Jacek Morajko, overtaking Marek Rutkiewicz. Both Poles rode together in the breakaway for over 90 kilometres. The young rider Kamil Gradek (GK Kellys Cartusia Kartuzy) took the fifth place.

After completing both classics there was a change of the leader of BGŻ ProLiga for the first time since the beginning of the season. The leading in the cycle was taken by a cyclist of the CCC Polsat Polkowice group – Tomasz Marczyński, who is before the stepping down leader Łukasz Bodnar and Marek Rutkiewicz. Before the ending the rivalry in BGŻ ProLiga Cup of the Ministry of Defence, only the above mentioned threesome has some chance for the final victory. We will find out who will win this years BGŻ ProLiga on 20 August.


The classification of BGŻ ProLiga after Puchar Uzdrowisk Karpackich

1. Tomasz Marczyński (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 168
2. Łukasz Bodnar (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 164
3. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 150
4. Robert Radosz (Team BDC) 107
5. Marcin Sapa (Team BDC) 101
6. Tomasz Smoleń (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 70
Krzysztof Jeżowski (Bank BGŻ) 70
8. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 55
Jacek Morajko (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 55
10. Paweł Cieślik (Bank BGŻ) 42

13. Bartłomiej Matysiak 30
20. Błażej Janiaczyk 17
27. Sylwester Janiszewski 11