Tour d’Azerbaidjan: 3rd place for Adrian Honkisz for the end of the race

Justin Jules (Team La Pomme Marseille) won the final stage of the Tour d’Azerbaijan. Adrian Honkisz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) finished on a high, 3rd place.

Last 5th stage Around Azerbaijan is also the longest stage during this year’s race. The riders raced on the roads around Baku, where there were situated start and finish at the same time. They had to overcome 202 km route where there were three mountain bonuses kat.3. The last kilometeres route were overcome on 13.6 kilometer rounds through the streets of Baku.

Just as during the earlier stages, even today the peloton managed to run away from a group of four cyclists where were David De La Fuente Rasilla (Torku Şekerspor), Samir Jabrayilov (Synergy Baku Cycling Project) and Thomas Vaubourzeix (Team La Pomme Marseille 13). Escape received up to six minutes advantage.

On the last kilometers route, at the rounds in Baku advantage of escaping group started to decrease and was completely abolished in the uphill of the mountain bonus. At last, the sixth round was a lot of attempts to attack but none of the riders could mangage to escape. At last finish meters two “orange”: Josef Cerny and Adrian Honkisz were riding very effective. Jozek beautifully distributed Adrian Honkisz, who unfortunately was not able to finish in the first place. The finish line he crossed in third place.

The winner was Justin Jules (La Pomme Marseille team) and Adrian was defeated by “flash spokes” Youcef Reguigui (MTN – Qhubeka).

The general classification won Ilnur Zakarin (RusVelo) and Josef Cerny (CCC Polsat Polkowice) took 18th place.


The results of the fifth stage of Baku – Baku (202 km);

Wyniki 5. etapu, Baku – Baku (202 km);

1. Justin Jules (Team La Pomme Marseille) 4:41:07

2. Youcef Reguigui (MTN – Qhubeka)

3. Adrian Honkisz (CCC Polsat – Polkowice)

11. Josef Cerny

65. Jacek Morajko 7:42

DNF Piotr Gawroński


Finish classification of the race;

1. Ilnur Zakarin (RusVelo) 20:36:24

2. Vitaliy Buts (Kolss Cycling Team) 01:52

3. Darren Lapthorne (Drapac Professional Cycling) 01:5

18. Josef Cerny 06:10

36. Adrian Honkisz 25:04

61. Jacek Morajko 1:01:55