Tour de Langkawi: Another top 10 finish for Kump

Marko Kump took 10th place in stage 3 of Le Tour de Langkawi, which saw a breakaway outsmart the peloton.

Info: March 20th, Kota Bharu – Kuala Terengganu, 166km

Course: flat

It didn’t take long until the breakaway of the day was formed, as 9 riders pulled away within first 10 kilometers. The maximum gap of the stage was at 7 minutes.

Not all the escapees managed to remain in the leading group and with 20km to go there was only 5 riders left in the front – Adam De Vos, Nik Mohamad Azman Zulkiflie, Dae-yeon Kim, Harry Sweeny and Peerapol Chawchiangkwang. They still could enjoy a solid lead of 3:30 at that point, while the peloton split in the cross wind.

The escape held on and arrived to the finish ahead of the chasers. Adam Vos launched a late solo move to take the win ahead of Kim and Zulkiflie. Peloton came in 1:20 back, and Marko Kump sprinted to 10th place. That’s third consecutive top 10 in Malaysia for the “orange squad”.