Tour de Pologne: Final stage for Poels, GC for Teuns

Wout Poels claimed the final stage of Tour de Pologne, while Dylan Teuns took the overall. Michal Schlegel was the highest placed “rider in orange” in the Polish race.

Info: 4th of August, Bukovina Resort – Bukowina Tatrzańska, 132,5km

Course: mountainous (6 cat. 1 climbs)


How it unfolded

The race was on right from the gun. On the first climb of the day few of the big guns fired, as well as KOM jersey contenders. 13-man leading group was formed and it included former leader of the race, Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Petr Vakoc (Quick-Step Floors), Robert Power, Ruben Plaza (both Orica-Scott), Rory Sutherland, Dayer Quintana (both Movistar), Diego Rosa (Astana), Simon Spilak (Katusha-Alpecin), Daan Olivier (Team LottoNL-JUmbo), Tom-Jelte Slagter (Cannondale-Drapac), Domen Novak (Bahrain-Merida), Niko Denz (AG2R) and Paweł Cieślik (Poland).

Despite solid pace in the bunch, the escape was able to open up 3-minute lead. When it dropped to 1 minute, Sagan decided to go away, taking Plaza with him. For few moments at least, as he left him behind on Sierockie climb.

This is where the peloton got shattered and on the next ascent, to Gliczarów Sagan was reeled back in. Slovak didn’t give up easily though, attacking one more time, this time in the downhill. That move wasn’t successful either, as he got finally caught with 2,5km to go.

The uphill sprint was won by Wout Poels (Team Sky) who bested Adam Yates (ORICA-Scott) and Rafał Majka (BORA – hansgrohe). Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing Team) finished 5th, claiming the overall victory. Majka and Poels rounded out the podium.

„Riders in orange” – Maciej Paterski, Michał Schlegel, Jan Hirt and Jan Tratnik stayed with the main group for a long time, even when it was reduced to around 60 riders. Eventually they were unable to respond to acceleration on Gliczarów and Michal Schlegel turned out to be team’s top finisher. He took 32nd at the line and 33rd overall.