Tour de Pologne: Marycz in the breakaway of the day

Jarosław Marycz was close from getting back the KOM jersey, after an impressive ride in the breakaway of the day in stage 4 of Tour de Pologne.

Second consecutive over 200-kilometer stage, included 5 KOMs – four of them were cat. 2 and one cat. 3 climb. The course looked hard on the profile, but as it turned out, it was even more demanding in real life. The climbs were short, but very steep and the road was often narrow and twisty.

The opening of the stage was extremely lively with many attacks on the first, uncategorized climb. After one of them, two runners Alessandro De Marchi (BMC) and Jens Keukeleire (Orica-Greenedge) broke clear. Little bit later they were joined by Jarosław Marycz and four other counterattacking riders – Adam Stachowiak (VERVA Activejet), Szymon Rekita (Polska), Igor Boev (Gazprom-Rusvelo), and Alessandro Tonelli (Bardiani-CSF). They quickly established over 7-minute lead and Etixx-Quick Step was making sure to not give them too much space.

Marycz, who has already spent two days in the pink jersey of the King of the Mountains classification, wanted to regain it and continued to collect points. He ended the stage with 13 points under his belt, but it was Tonelli who accepted the jersey at the podium. He attacked from the break with Keukeleire and De Marchi late in the race and won last two, cat. 2 climbs.

CCC Sprandi Polkowice rider got caught soon after the last categorized ascent, around 35km from the finish. The last escapee to get reeled in was De Marchi, who was brought back in with 20km remaining. From that point it was all together, despite numerous attempts to break the field.

For the third consecutive time it was all about the sprinters in the end. Race leader, Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-Quick Step) proved to be the fastest man in the pack besting Luka Mezgec (ORICA-BikeExchange) and Michał Kwiatkowski (Team Sky). Maciej Paterski came in 35th.

Before the mountainous stages, four “riders in orange” have no significant losses in the GC – Paterski, Victor de la Parte, Felix Grossschartner and Łukasz Owsian.