Tour du Doubs: Rebellin 6th after long breakaway

Davide Rebelin finished the Tour du Doubs in 6th place. The race was won by Estonian, Rein Taaramäe from Cofidis.

Davide Rebellin, Bartlomiej Matysiak, Jaroslaw Marycz, Nikolay Mihaylov, Maciej Paterski, Marek Rutkiewicz, Branislau Samoilau and Mateusz Taciak were representing CCC Polsat Polkowice in the French one-day event. They had to face 190km, hilly course from Morteau do Pontarlier.

Rebellin got into the breakaway of the day which was established soon after the start. He was a part of a 15-men group with Arnaud Gérard, Pierre-Luc Périchon (both Bretagne-Séché), Rein Taaramäe (Cofidis), Romain Guillemois, Angelo Tulik (both Europcar), Théo Vimpère (BigMat-Auber 93), Rémy Di Grégorio, Yoann Paillot (both Team La Pomme Marseille 13), David Belda Garcia (Burgos-BH), Pierre-Roger Latour (Equipe de France Espoirs), Jimmy Turgis (Roubaix Lille Métropole), Alexis Vuillermoz, Mikaël Chérel (both AG2R La Mondiale) and Thibaut Pinot (

Even though the escapees never gained more than 3-minute lead, most of them survived all the way to the finish line. In the final part of the race the group split in two and Rebellin managed to stay in the front, with 6 other riders.

With few kilometers to go one attack after another was launched. The most successful one came from Rein Taaramäe. He broke clear and soloed for victory. Angelo Tulik (Europcar) was 2nd and Pierre-Luc Perichon (Bretagne – Séché Environnement) took third.

Davide Rebellin finished in 6th place – I couldn’t keep Rein’s wheel and fallow him. He was just too strong. I arrived to the finish in a 4-men group and I didn’t feel comfortable in the final sprint.

It was a good test of form before the Italian one-day races that are ahead of us – said Rebellin afterwards.


Results of Tour du Doubs, cat.UCI 1.1, Francja

1. Rein Taaramäe (Cofidis) 4:06:07

2. Angelo Tulik (Team Europcar) 0:31

3. Pierre Luc Perichon (Bretagne Séché) 0:40

6. Davide Rebellin 0:40

14. Marek Rutkiewicz 2:01

17. Nikolay Mihaylov

19. Maciej Paterski

25. Mateusz Taciak

43. Bartlomiej Matysiak 2:44

44. Jaroslaw Marycz

55. Branislau Samoilau 3:56