Tour du Haut Var: Active Rebellin in 8th overall

Nikolay Mihaylov was attacking early on and Davide Rebellin was very active at the end of stage 2 of Tour du Haut Var. Despite aggressive ride of CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders, the winner came from the small bunch sprint.

I tried a late move on the final climb. Another rider joined me but teams such as BMC Racing or Ag2R didn’t want to let us go all the way to the finish. They were chasing us down and caught with 6-7 kilometers before the line. I feel that my form is where it should be I hope to deliver good results in the next races – Davide Rebellin said.

Beginning of the stage saw many riders try to break clear. Nobody was able to build bigger lead though until 60km into the stage. This is when a 9-man group was established with Nikolay Mihaylov. He was joined by Le Bon (FDJ), Maxim Belkov (Katusha), Yannick Martinez (Europcar), Anthony Turgis (Cofidis), Ignas Konovalovas (Marseille 13 KTM), Julien Guay (Auber 93), Antoine Demoitié (Wallonie – Bruxelles) and Serge Dewortelaer (Veranclassic – Ekoï).

The peloton held them on a 2-minute leash.

With 70km to go Mihaylov was left behind and got reeled in by the bunch. The other escapees continue to ride in the front, but in the end the group split in few pieces. Eventually they were all brought back in before the cat.1 climb to Tuilières. This is where Davide Rebellin launched his attack. He took off with Julien Loubet (Team Marseille 13-KTM). Italian was first one on the top, but the chasers were very close.

He got caught and the a small peloton arrived to the finish. Luka Mezgec (Team Giant-Alpecin) was the fastest and took the win. He outsprinted Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing Team) and Baptiste Planckaert (Roubaix-Lille Métropole). Rebellin finished 11th and completed the two-day race in 8th overall. Ben Gastauer (AG2R La Mondiale) claimed the victory in the final general classification.

Results of stage 2 of Tour du Haut Var, Draguignan – Draguignan, 194,7k

1. Luca Mezgec (Team Giant – Alpecin)

2. Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing Team)

3. Baptiste Planckaert (Roubaix Lille Métropole)

11. Davide Rebellin (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

85. Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 8:07

90. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 9:39

109. Christian Delle Stelle (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 10:28

DNF Nikolay Mihaylov

DNF Grzegorz Stępniak

DNF Marek Rutkiewicz


Final general classification

1. Ben Gastauer (AG2R La Mondiale)

2. Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing Team)

3. Jonathan Hivert (Bretagne – Séché Environnement)

8. Davide Rebellin

92. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 13:19

100. Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 14:37

111.Christian Delle Stelle (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 19:53