Tour of Croatia: Paterski 10th on stage 2

Maciej Paterski was 10th on stage 2 of Tour of Croatia. The race leader and yesterday’s stage winner, Grega Bole had flat tire in the finale and was excluded from the sprint.

It was a typical sprinter stage. After the lively start, a two-man group emerged in the front, with Stef Van Zummeren (Verandas Willems) and Taco van den Hoorn (Join’s – De Rijke). They established over 4-minute advantage which was controlled by the CCC Sprandi Polkowice-led peloton.

The breakaway worked well together but the power of the bunch was just too strong. It got reeled in with 26km to go. The big group stayed all together all the way to the final two, 5km laps in Zadar.

The road in the finale was very narrow and twisting. The main group stretched out and the CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders tried to stay in the front to make positioning easier for the sprint. Other teams had similar plan, so the closer it was to the finish, the less space there was and the more chaotic it got. A lot of sprinters wanted to move up to the head of the bunch, and because of that the “orange team” lost good positions.

In the decisive moment of the race, the GC leader, Grega Bole punctured and was not able to participate in the fight for the victory. It was up to Maciej Paterski and Bartłomiej Matysiak to go for the top result. Unfortunatly they started the sprint from far back. Paterski was the top finisher, claiming 10th place. Marko Kump (Adria Mogil) took the win, while Paweł Franczak (ActiveJet) and Roman Maikin (RusVelo) also made the podium.

Grega Bole lost the leader’s jersey to the stage winner. Kump took over also the lead in the points classification.

Tomorrow the queen stage will be held. It’s 228km long and ends with a 22km ascent.

Results of stage 2 of Tour of Croatia, Šibenik – Zadar, 204

1. Marko Kump (Adria-Mobil)

2. Paweł Franczak (ActiveJet Team)

3. Roman Maikin (RusVelo)

10. Maciej Paterski (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

19. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

20. Jarosław Marycz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

24. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

32. Sylwester Szmyd (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

63. Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

116. Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 0:43

121. Grega Bole (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 0:00