Tour of Croatia: Paterski takes the last stage and overall win

CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders finished off racing in Tour of Croatia in a great fashion. Maciej Paterski took the second stage win and claimed the final victory. In total, five “riders in orange” completed the event in the Top 10 overall and the team won every classification but youth.

The stage which wrapped up the competition in Croatia, was 177km long and ended with two short laps in Zagreb. As a result of numerous attacks in the initial part of racing, a 8-man group emerged in the front, with no CCC Sprandi Polkowice representatives. The peloton kept the gap under control to prevent the yesterday’s scenario when the breakaway survived all the way to the finish.

“The orange squad” was one of the teams which set the pace and took on the responsibility for chasing down the escapees. The group got caught and on the laps in Zagreb another 8-man escape pulled away, this time with three CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders – race leader Maciej Paterski, Marek Rutkiewicz and Grega Bole.

Paterski accelerated on the cobblestone hill which led to the finish and overtook his rivals. For the second time in the 5-day event he grabbed a stage win, beating Felix Groschartner (Team Felbermayr – Simplon Wels) and Roman Maikin (RusVelo). Rutkiewicz and Bole finished in 7th and 8th respectively.

Maciej Paterski protected his GC lead and took the overall victory in Tour of Croatia. He also took home points and mountains classification jerseys and led his teammates to the teams classification triumph. Outside of Paterski, also Sylwester Szmyd, Branislau Samoila, Marek Rutkiewicz and Grega Bole completed the race among the 10 strongest. Szmyd made the podium and was 3rd.

Results of stage 5 of Tour of Croatia, Sveti Martin – Zagreb, 177km

1. Maciej Paterski (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

2. Felixa Groschartnera (Team Felbermayr – Simplon Wels)

3. Roman Maikin (RusVelo)

7.Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

8. Grega Bole (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

16. Sylwester Szmyd (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

17. Jarosław Marycz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

21. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

27. Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

78. Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


Final general classification

1. Maciej Paterski (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

2. Primoz Roglic (Adria Mobil) 1:01

3. Sylwester Szmyd (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 1:18

6. Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 2:17

9. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 4:09

10. Grega Bole (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 4:23

35. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 19:54

45. JArosław Marycz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 27:21

50. Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 30:00