Tour of Croatia: Queen stage for Paterski

CCC Sprandi Polkowice took a commanding victory on the queen stage of Tour of Croatia, which ended with a 22-kilometer ascent. Maciej Paterski claimed the win, while 3 other “riders in orange” finished in the top 10.

Maciej Paterski grabbed this impressive victory after a long breakaway. He was part of the 12-man group and was riding alongside Kamil Gradek (ActiveJet), Radoslav Rogina (Adria Mobil), Jordi Simon (Ecuador) and Antonio Parrinello (d’Amico – Bottecchia) among other. The escape was established after the series of attacks and splits in the field, which were a result not only of the high pace but also rainy, and unpleasant weather.

The escapees were steadily increasing their advantage but in never reached 3 minutes. The closer it was to the bottom of the final ascent, the smaller the breakaway was. When they started to climb the leading group consisted only of three riders – Paterski, Rogina i Simon and the gap was around one minute.

It was enough for the Volta Ciclista a Catalunya stage winner to maintain the lead all the way to the top. He was not bothered by the fact that he had spent nearly 200km in the front of the race and arrived at the summit 18 seconds ahead of Primoz Roglic (Adria Mobil), who was 2nd.

Sylwester Szmyd reached the finish in 3rd place and proved to be in the right climbing shape ahead of the Giro d’Italia. Also Branislau Samoilau and Marek Rutkiewicz  managed to complete the stage among 10 best climbers – in 6th and 10th place respectively.

Maciej Paterski took over the overall lead and will protect the jersey on the upcoming two, relatively flat stages. He will approach the final days of Tour of Croatia also as the leader of points and mountains classification.

Wyniki 3.etapu Tour of Croatia, NP Plitvice – Učka, 228km

1. Maciej Paterski (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

2. Primoz Roglic (Adria Mobil)

3. Sylwester Szmyd (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 0:33

6. Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 1:20

10. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 3:26

11. Grega Bole (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 3:44

41. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 18:29

51. Jarosław Marycz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 24:10

56. Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 26:21