Tour of Hainan: Marczyński’s 5th place.

The last stage of Tour of Hainan brought for the fourth time a victory to a racer of the team of Skil-Shimano, Kenny Robert Van Hummel. In the final classification the winner is the Kazakh from the Astana team Valentin Iglinskiy.

During the last stage around the island of Hainan, leading from Dongfang to the capital of the region, Sanya, the cyclists had a route of 226 km to pass. Despite the expectations that such a long and difficult stage would bring about changes in the final classification of the race, the results were different. The stage was very dynamic, full of attacks, attempts at breaking away, and eventually the finishing line in Sanya was crossed by almost the whole peloton and, like during most of the previous stages, sprint cyclists struggled for the stage win. And as usual the working hard team of Skil-Shimano led Robert Van Hummel to the fourth victory. The Dutch cyclists overtook at the finishing line the Russian Sergey Kudentsov from PSN, and the Spaniard Enrique Mata from Footon Servetto.

After stage 9 of the race there have not been any bigger changes in the final classification of the race. The winner of the race was the Kazakh from the Astana team Valentin Iglinskiy, 17 seconds ahead of the Australian Johnny Walkera (Footon-Servetto) and the representative of the national team of Russia, Alexei Markov, who was 18 adrift of the winner

Tomasz Marczyński from the team of CCC Polsat Polkowice completed the race in the 5th place, 21 seconds adrift of the winner

The results of stage 9: Dongfang – Sanya 226.1km

1. Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Skil – Shimano 5:16:26
2. Sergey Kudentsov (Rus) PSN
3. Enrique Mata (Spa) Footon-Servetto (Spa)

13. Sylwester Janiszewski

16. Tomasz Smoleń

The final classification of the race:

1. Walentin Igliński (Kaz) Astana 16:57:20
2. Johnnie Walker (Aus) Footon-Servetto 0:00:17
3. Alexei Markov (Rus) Russian Federation 0:00:18
4. Kiel Reijnen (USA) Jelly Belly Presented By Kenda 0:00:21
5. Tomasz Marczyński (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:00:21

17. Adrian Honkisz 0:00:41
36. Bartłomiej Matysiak 0:02:34
40. Sylwester Janiszewski 0:02:48
66. Łukasz Bodnar 0:03:43
87. Tomasz Smoleń 0:06:39
96. Tomasz Kiendyś 0:09:06