Tour of Hainan: Zieliński and Janiszewski in the lead of stage 7.

Again a rider of Skil-Shimano, Kenny Van Hunnel, became the winner of stage 7 of Tour of Hainan. There were two riders of CCC Polsat Polkowice in the lead: Kamil Zieliński (in the 8th position) and Sylwester Janiszewski (the 12th place).

The second place was taken by the Korean rider, Chan Jae Jang. The third one was the Italian Daniele Colli from Geox-TMC. In the 4th place the leader of the race finished – the Frenchman Justin Jules (La Pomme Marseille), and in the 5th place the vice-leader Valentin Iglinski (Astana).

With the group’s time Tomasz Kiendyś took the 72nd place, and Mateusz Taciak was 78th. Bartłomiej Matysiak was 94th, 9 seconds after the leader. A bit further, 49 seconds later Paweł Charucki crossed the finishing line. The last one to cross the finishing line was Dariusz Batek, who had some health problems on that day and did not feel well. He was 14:26 adrift of the leader.

In the general classification the first three places have not changed. The highest ranked Polish rider after 7 stages is Kamil Zieliński. He gained on Wednesday 5 places and is 16 seconds behind the winner.

The next place – 32nd – is held by Taciak, 21 seconds adrift of the leading Frenchman. Kiendyś is the 71st – 7:31 behind the leader, Batek is 84th – 14:42, Charucki is 90th – 31:20, the 97th rider is Janiszewski – 36:22.

In other individual classifications the positions of the leaders have not changed. There were no changes either in the teams classification, where CCC Polsat Polkowice is the 7th.

On Wednesday the peloton rode from Danzhou to Dongfang, a port town on the western coast of the Hajnan island, and they rode 196 km. On Thursday the penultimate stage of the race, at the same time the most difficult. The peloton is going to return to Sanya in the south of the island, where on Friday this year’s Tour of Hainan will end.


The results of stage 7 – 26.10. Danzhou – Dongfang, 196 km

1. Kenny van Hummel (Skil-Shimano) 4:36:52
2. Chan Jae Jang (Kor) Terengganu Cycling Team
3. Danielle Colli (Ita) Geox-TMC

8. Kamil Zieliński
12. Sylwester Janiszewski
72. Tomasz Kiendyś
78. Mateusz Taciak
94. Bartłomiej Matysiak 0:00:09
99. Paweł Charucki 0:00:49
102. Dariusz Batek 0:14:26

source:, Tomasz Piechal