Tour of Norway: Maciej Paterski the winner of the race

Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) won the last stage of the Tour of Norway. Maciek Paterski finished in fourth place, ensuring the victory in the race.

Last , 5th stage of the Tour of Norway led from Gjovik to Honefoss, and the length of the route was 165 kilometers. The riders had to overcome a fairly easy stretch, because the route was slightly undulating with a uphill of one kilometer long that was leading to the finish line stage.

Just as during the earlier stages, the peloton today, ” let go ” the group of seven riders who at a very harmonious cooperation, have developed an advantage which reached a maximum of 6 minutes. Control in the peloton took over the team ” orange “, leading gradually to reduce the advantage. The pace in the peloton was controlled by very active that day, Jaroslaw Marycz. For the last 20 kilometers joined the team of Belkin to help ” orange ” and escape began to crumble with each rider up to a total liquidation. On the last kilometers before the line , Maciek Patrerski tried to attack but his effort was quickly eliminated.

At the last uphill strongly attacked the Katusha team riders leading to the victory of Alexander Kristoff. Maciej Paterski passed the finish line at high fourth place, earning six seconds ahead of the leader of the race, which gave him the overall victory.
Arriving at the race, I did not expect such a result from each other – said at the finish very happy Maciek Paterski. I was thinking more about winning a stage, so I’m really surprised because I did not expect such a success. We did a great result. I would like to thank the entire team that helped me. I think you could see that what my colleagues raided throughout the race, it was amazing. I am very happy and very thank them for it.

Results of 5th race of Tour of Norway 2014 (2.HC), Gjøvik – Hønefoss (165 km):

1. Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha) 4:04:40

2. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)

3. Gerald Ciolek (MTN – Qhubeka)

4. Maciej Paterski (CCC Polsat Polkowice)

30. Branislau Samoilau 1:04

47. Jarosław Marycz 6:45

60. Bartłomiej Matysiak 13:51

DNF Adrian Kurek

DNF Marek Rutkiewicz

The general classifiCation

1. Maciej Paterski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 21:14:56

2. Marc De Maar (UnitedHealthcare Pro) 00:03

3. Bauke Mollema (Belkin Pro) 00:09

28. Branislau Samoilau 11:33

37. Jarosław Marycz 20:59

43. Bartłomiej Matysiak 28:05