Tour of South Africa – Batek 26th in stage 4

Davide Torosantucci from D’angelo & Antenucci-Nippo became the winner of the 4th stage of Tour of South Africa. The Italian crossed the finishing line in George alone, 18 seconds quicker than the second racer Kévin Reza from Team Europcar and Darren Lill from the team of DCM. Out of the CCC Polsat Polkowice cyclists the highest place was taken by Dariusz Batek, the 26th one, 2 minutes 23 seconds adrift of the winner.

Stage 4 of the race led along the coast of the Indian Ocean from Bloukrans Bridge to George and it was 153 km long. Despite the relatively short distance it was a difficult stage, because of the 4 climbs within it, including one of category 1. And that climb of category 1, at the beginning of the stage, made a big part of the peloton not keep up the pace of the ride and stay behind, making a grupetto. The pace was set by the team of the leader – Rafa Condor-Sharp, who controlled the course of the race.

At the end of the stage a group of 19 cyclists formed at the head of the shattered peloton, gaining several minutes of advantage over the remaining groups of cyclists. In that group there was also the leader of the race Kristian House (Rafa Condor-Sharp), who among others attempted a sole attack in the final kilometres of the stage. Unfortunately, his attack was quickly eliminated. When there were only 5 km left to the finishing line Torosantucci attacked out of the group, and quite soon he gained the advantage that he managed to maintain until the end of the race. He crossed the finishing line alone, with the advantage of 18 seconds. As the second racer Kévin Reza from Europcar crossed the finishing line, beating the third one – Darren Lill from DCM. After 22 seconds the remaining 16 cyclists with the leader of the race Kristian House arrived at the finishing line.
Almost 3 minutes after the winner of the race the finishing line in George was crossed by another big group of cyclists, and among them Dariusz Batek (CCC Polsat Polkowice), who took the 26th place.
10 minutes adrift of the winner, in the 61st place, Tomasz Kiendyś crossed the finishing line, and the other cyclists of the CCC Polsat Polkowice team came to the finishing line in the grupetto.

In the general classification Kristian House (Rapha Condor Sharp) is still the leader and Dariusz Batek is holding the 26th place, 5 minutes 5 seconds after the leader.

The results of stage 4: Bloukrans Bridge – George 153 km

1. Davide Torosantucci (Ita) d’Angelo & Antenucci – Nippo 3:30:22
2. Kévin Reza (Fra) Team Europcar 00:18
3. Darren Lill (RSA) DCM

26. Dariusz Batek 02:23
61. Tomasz Kiendyś 09:39
88. Mariusz Witecki 18:31
89. Tomasz Smoleń
93. Mateusz Taciak
104. André Schulze (Ger) 22:58