Tour of South Africa – good places of Smoleń and Schulze.

Bernardo Riccio from the team of d’Angeloi & Antenucci-Nippo won stage 5 of the Tour of South Africa. The 25-year-old Italian, defeated in a sprinters’ duel the hosts of the race from the team of MTN Qhubeka, Daryl Impey and Christoff van Heerden. Sprint cyclists of CCC Polsat Polkowice joined the struggle for the stage win, too. Tomasz Smoleń finished in the 9th place, whereas Andre Schulze crossed the finishing line in the 11th place.

In stage 5 the cyclists had a route of 175 km to ride, leading from Oudtshoorn to Barrydale. In spite of its length it was not a difficult stage. The route was relatively flat, and the only difficulty could be the climb at the 75th kilometre.

The stage started very dynamically, and numerous attempts to break away were eliminated by the team of the leader of the race. Despite that, one of such groups managed to jump off the peloton. There were 6 cyclists in it, among others: Jeremy Maartens (DCM), Tyler Day (Bonitas), Estifanos Gebresilassie (UCI Africa Team), Clint Hendricks (Tasol-GT), Frank Dressler-Lehnhof (Team Differdange-Magic) and Habeaux Gregory (Willems Veranda to-Accent). The break-away gained an advantage over the peloton and after passing the only climb, won by Gebresilassie, it headed for the finishing line of the stage in Barrydale. 7 kilometers before the finishing line, with a lot of effort of the MTN-Qhubeka team, the break-away was eliminated and the whole peloton was riding towards the finish. Now sprint cyclists started to fight for the stage win.

The quickest at the finishing line was the Italian Bernardo Riccio from d’Angeloi & Antenucci-Nippo, who beat the sprint cyclists from MTN Qhubeka, Daryl Impey and Christoff van Heerden. Within the final meters of the stage also sprint cyclists of CCC Polsat Polkowice joined the struggle for the stage win. Despite his quite unfavorable setting Tomasz Smoleń finished in the 9th place and Andre Schulze was in the 11th place.

There have not been any changes in the general classification. Kristian House (Rapha Condor Sharp) is still the leader, and the best cyclist out of the CCC Polsat Polkowice team Dariusz Batek is holding the 28th place.

The results of stage 5: Oudtshoorn – Barrydale 175km

1. Bernardo Riccio (Ita) d’Angelo & Antenucci – Nippo 4:34:04
2. Daryl Impey (RSA) MTN Qhubeka
3. Christoff Van Heerden (RSA) MTN Qhubeka

9. Tomasz Smoleń
11. André Schulze (Ger)
63. Tomasz Kiendyś
66. Dariusz Batek
77. Mariusz Witecki
82. Mateusz Taciak 00:16