Trentino: Honkisz the best climber, Mendes the 13th in the stage

The Colombian Fabio Duarte Arevalo (Geox-TMC) became the winner of stage 3 of the Giro del Trentino race. At the finishing line, which in this stage was located in the uphill stretch in Fai della Paganella, he beat the Portuguese cyclist Tiago Machado (RadioShack). As the third cyclist, 3 seconds adrift, the leader of the race, Michel Scarponi (Lampre-ISD), crossed the finishing line, maintaining his leading position in the general classification of the race.

Stage 3 of the race, in total 185 kilometres long, led from Molina di Ledro and it ended with the finishing line in the up-the-hill stretch in Fai della Paganella. It was a very difficult and dynamic stage, where the Polish participants did very well. Right after the start three cyclists rode out of the peloton: Anthony Charteau (Europcar), Stefano Borchi (De Rosa) and Adrian Honkisz (CCC Polsat Polkowice).

The break-away group, cooperating with each other harmoniously, quickly gained advantage, which at one moment was 6 minutes. Adrian Honkisz presented himself very well winning twice in climbs, among others in Fai della Paganella, thus winning the jersey of the best climber of the race.
When the peloton was approaching the final uphill stretch, the break-away got eliminated. The peloton was torn quite badly and at the head again a group of 15 cyclists appeared, in which there were, among others, Sylwester Szmyd and a CCC Polsat Polkowice cyclist Jose Mendes. Right after the uphill stretch in Fai della Paganella two cyclist jumped away from the group: Duarte and Machado, and they fought for the stage win against each other.

The winner was Fabio Duarte before Tiago Machado. The third contestant at the finishing line was the leader of the race, Michele Scarponi. The eighth place was taken by Sylwester Szmyd, and Jose Mendes arrived in the 13th place.

Michele Scarponi is still the leader of the race.

Jose Mendes from CCC Polsat Polkowice is holding the 13th place, 1 min. 38 seconds adrift of the leader.

The results of stage 3: Fai della Paganella 185 km

1. Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Geox-TMC 4:41:05
2. Tiago Machado (Por) Team RadioShack
3. Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:00:03

13. José Mendes 0:00:17
38. Tomasz Marczyński 0:04:39
52. Adrian Honkisz 0:07:31
70. Mariusz Witecki 0:14:15
77. Jacek Morajko
90. Marek Rutkiewicz 0:17:47
106. Łukasz Bodnar
130. Dariusz Batek 0:22:06