Two medals in the Polish Championship ITT for CCC Sprandi Polkowice

CCC Sprandi Polkowice won two medals on the first day of the Polish Championship, both in the U23 individual time trial. Additionally, two riders from elite category made the top 10.    

Patryk Stosz and Michał Paluta stood on the podium of the 30-kilometer race against the clock, with the start and the finish in Strzelin.

I basically hadn’t raced in the time trial this season, only in the team time trial during Nations Cup U23 stage race, so I didn’t know what to expect. I was able to finish in second, which really surprised me. I hadn’t expected to perform so well. Last year I was 6th. This season I climbed up the podium and reduced the time gap to the winner. That progress makes me very happy – Patryk Stosz, silver medalist, said afterwards.


I was hoping to repeat my success from the junior category, from 2013, when I claimed the Polish champion title. Unfortunately this time I had to settle with 3rd, which is also a very good result if you take into consideration the flat course. Usually I feel much better in the more undulating terrain – Michał Paluta explains.

The wind played a big role in the race, but if you ask me, I felt very strong when I was riding with a headwind. What’s interesting is the fact, that my times were basically the same on the sections with the headwind and tailwind.  

Both riders were late starters and knew results of 15 cyclists. Michał Paluta posted a time of 39:52 and took the lead, beating Patryk Złotowicz. Later Patryk Stosz recorded 39:41 and became the new leader. Eventually Szymon Rekita (LKK Warmia Biskupiec/Alto Pack) set the best time – 39:07. It was 34 seconds faster than Stosz and 45 than Paluta.

Other CCC Sprandi Polkowice made the top 10, as Jakub Kaczmarek, Piotr Brożyna and Eryk Latoń took 5th, 6th and 9th place respectively.

Top 10 for elite riders

Mateusz Taciak and Adrian Kurek took part in the race against the clock in the elite category. Last year’s bronze medalist Mateusz Taciak rode to 6th place 58 seconds seconds off the pace. His participation in the European Games and long trip from Baku made an negative impact on his performance and was not able to claim third Nationals’ medal in the row.

Adrian Kurek set 7th best result, 1:17 behind the winner, Marcin Białobłocki (One Pro Cycling).  Kamil Gradek (ActiveJet) and Bartosz Huzarski (Bora-Argon 18) rounded out the podium.