Volta a Catalunya: Contador wins, Mendes 35th.

The last stage of the Volta a Catalunya race was won by Samuel Dumoulin from Cofidis, who defeated Rigoberto Uran Uran (SkyTeam) and Kenny De Haes (Omega Pharma-Lotto).
During the last, seventh, stage of the race the cyclists had a relatively short stretch to ride, 124.5 kilometres from Parets del Valles to Barcelona. The stage was flat, with mild, uphill stretches and one climb of category 3, ending with rounds along the streets of Barcelona. The profile of the route indicated that at the end of the race sprint cyclists will again fight for the stage win. Right after the start there were numerous attempts to ride away in the peloton, however only in the middle of the distance six cyclists formed a break-away group. The advantage of the escapees was maximally over 1 minute. When the cyclists started to negotiate the uphill stretch for the climb in Montjuic the advantage halved, and while they were entering the streets of Barcelona the breakaway was eliminated.

At the finishing line in Barcelona, sprint cyclists fought for the win one more time. The French Samuel Dumoulin achieved his second stage win, beating Rigoberto Uran Uran and Kenny De Haes. Błażej Janiaczyk performed best of the CCC Polsat Polkowice cyclists, taking 43rd place.

In the general classification Alberto Contador ( Saxo Bank Sungard) triumphed. The Spaniard was 23 seconds quicker than Michele Scarponi (Lampre – ISD) and 36 seconds better than Daniel Martin (Garmin-Cervelo). Jose Mendes (CCC Polsat Polkowice) completed the race in the 35th place.

The results of stage 7: Parets del Valles – Barcelona (Pla de Palau), 124.5 km

1. Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne 2:33:55
2. Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling
3. Kenny De Haes (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

43. Błażej Janiaczyk
45. Marek Rutkiewicz
66. Łukasz Bodnar
100. Jose Mendes 01:39
108. Jacek Morajko 02:57
126. Adrian Honkisz
153. Mariusz Witecki 04:33
DNF Tomasz Marczyński

The final general classification of the race:

1. Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 29:24:42
2. Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:00:23
3. Daniel Martin (Irl) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:00:35

35. Jose Mendes (Por) 03:49
106. Łukasz Bodnar 25:20
118. Adrian Honkisz
123. Marek Rutkiewicz 29:44
125. Błażej Janiaczyk
133. Jacek Morajko 32:51
145. Mariusz Witecki 37:14