Volta a Catalunya: Janiaczyk’s 15th place.

The winner of stage 5 of the race Volta Ciclista a Catalunya, is the cyclists of the Cofidis team, Samuel Dumoulin. After a field sprint he was quicker at the finishing line in Tarragona than Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar Team) and Ruben Perez Moreno (Euskaltel-Euskadi). The cyclist of CCC Polsat Polkowice Błażej Janiaczyk crossed the finishing line in the 15th place.

The longest stage of this year’s edition of the race Around Catalonia led from El Vendrell to Tarragona and it was 205.8 km long. Within the route there were three quite difficult uphill stretches, in two of which the organizers placed climbs of category 2. This time the cyclists started the race peacefully and they all were riding together. It was like that for 80 kilometres of the route, when there was the first serious attack from the peloton and an escape group of 4 cyclists formed. There were Jelle Vanendert (Omega Pharma-Lotto), Rémi Cusin (Cofidis), Francesco Masciarelli (Astana) and Christopher Froome (Sky) in it. The team of the leader, Saxo Bank, fully controlled the course of the events, letting the break-away group ride away not more than 5 minutes. The maximal advantage of the four cyclists reached 5 minutes and 20 seconds. When the peloton was getting closer and closer the finishing line the teams that had sprint cyclists among their racers started the chase and nearly 5 kilometres before the finishing line the break-away was eliminated, and the peloton was riding together. An attempt of solitary attack was made by Jan Bakelandts (Omega Pharma-Lotto), but his action ended within the last kilometre.
In a sprinters’ duel the best one was Samuel Dumoulin, who beat Jose Joaquin Rojas and Ruben Perez Moreno. In the 5th place there was the best of the Polish racers, Michał Gołaś and Błażej Janiaczyk from CCC Polsat Polkowice completed the race in the 15th place.

Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank-SunGard) is still the leader of the race.

The results of stage 5: El Vendrell – Tarragona, 205.8 km

1. Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne 4:49:31
2. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team
3. Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi

15. Błażej Janiaczyk
31. Adrian Honkisz
42. Jacek Morajko
48. Tomasz Marczyński
68. Jose Mendes
88. Marek Rutkiewicz
114. Łukasz Bodnar
129. Mariusz Witecki