Volta ao Alentejo: Grzegorz Stepniak again in the lead.

Filipe Cardoso from the team of Efapel – Glassdrive won the last, fourth stage of the Volta ao Alentejo (2.2 UCI) race. Another day of very good riding by Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice), who finished the race in the 6th place.

During stage 4 of Volta ao Alantejo, the cyclists rode along a route of 151 km, leading from Mertola to Grandola. The last stage, like the previous ones, led in a very flat area, with the only uphill in 132 kilometre of the route, where a climb was situated. The finishing line, as in the previous stages, was located in a little uphill stretch.



That stage was very similar to the previous days. From the very beginning a lot of attacks, but nobody succeeded to ride away from the peloton for a longer time. The teams having sprint cyclists in their line-ups controlled the course of events, not allowing any break-aways, hoping for a field sprint stage win again. The riders of the CCC team were riding actively once again. They joined all the attacks, and Marek Rutkiewicz, attacking in the uphill stretch, won the climb. As expected, the finishing line at Grandola was reached by almost the whole peloton, and there was a field sprint. A Home team rider, Filipe Cardoso, turned out to be the best, beating the Spaniard John Aberasturi (Orbea Continental) and the Russian rider Alexey Kunshin.

Grzegorz Stępniak, finished again very well, this time taking the 6th place.

The Russian rider from Lokosphinx, Alexey Kunshin is the winner of the general classification. The highest ranked cyclist of CCC Polsat Polkowice was Bartłomiej Matysiak who completed the race in the 14th place, 15 seconds behind the winner.
The team of CCC Polsat Polkowice took the 5th place in the teams classification.

The results of stage 4, 25.03, Mertola – Grandola, 151.00 km

1. Filipe Cardoso /Efapel-Glassdrive/ 3:21:46
2. John Aberasturi /Orbea Continental/
3. Alexey Kunshin/ Lokosphinx /

6. Grzegorz Stępniak
29. Bartłomiej Matysiak
37. Adrian Honkisz 0:00:07
42. Łukasz Owsian
47. Marek Rutkiewicz
63. Paweł Charucki 0:0017
68. Mateusz Taciak
109. Nikolay Mihaylov 0:08:02

The final classification of the race:

1. Alexey Kunshin /Lokosphinx/ 16:16:32
2. Filipe Cardoso /Efapel-Glassdrive/
3. Samuel Caldeira / Carmim/Prio / 0:00:01

14. Bartłomiej Matysiak 0:00:15
16. Grzegorz Stępniak 0:00:16
23. Adrian Honkisz 0:00:31
26. Łukasz Owsian 0:00:39
27. Marek Rutkiewicz 0:00:41
33. Mateusz Taciak 0:01:41
38. Paweł Charucki 0:01:53
86. Nikolay Mihaylov 0:13:54