Vuelta a Alentejo: CCC riders’ active ride.

The Russian, Alexey Kunshin from the team of Lokosphinx became the winner of stage 2 of Vuelta a Alentejo (2.2 UCI ). In the 13th place there was a rider of the CCC Polsat Polkowice team, Bartłomiej Matysiak.

During stage 2 of the race the riders were negotiating a distance of 191.3 kilometres, which led from Portel to Santiago do Cocem. That longest stage of this year’s edition of the race did not belong to the most difficult ones either. The route led mostly in a flat area, with the only uphill at the 153 kilometre of the route, where there was a climb of category 3. The finishing line in Santiago do Cocem was in a little uphill stretch.



The 2nd stage of the race was very dynamic. Like on the first day in the peloton there were numerous attacks, joined very actively by riders of CCC Polsat Polkowice. In one of the break-away groups there was among others Marek Rutkiewicz, who won the 2nd place at an intermediate stage at the 79 kilometre of the route. At the next intermediate stage (143.4 km) the 3rd place was taken by Grzegorz Stępniak and Adrian Honkisz won the  4th placeat the only climb during this stage.

The victory in stage 2 was determined by the field sprint out of a large, 44-riders group, which broke away from the peloton at the end of the stage, gaining a little advantage over the peloton. Out of that group the Russian, Alexey Kunshin attacked, crossing the finishing line alone, gaining 10 seconds of his advantage. The second one to cross the finishing line was  Marco Cunha from Liberty Seguros/Feira. Right after his  Antonio Carvalho (Mortágua) finished the race.

The best result out of the team of CCC Polsat Polkowice was achieved by Bartek Matysiak, who took the 13th place, 10 seconds behind the winner.

Alexey Kunshin ( Lokosphinx) is the leader of the race after stage 2.
Bartek Matysiak is holding the 12th place in the general classification, 11 seconds after the leader.
The results of stage 2, 23.03, Portel – Santiago do Cacem, 191.3 km

1. Alexey Kunshin ( Lokosphinx)     4:26:40
2.  Marco Cunha (Liberty Seguros/Feira)     0:00:10
3.  Antonio Carvalho (Mortágua)

13. Bartłomiej Matysiak
26. Marek Rutkiewicz
29. Adrian Honkisz
56. Łukasz Owsian    0:00:18
57. Grzegorz Stępniak
73. Paweł Charucki    0:01:10
74. Mateusz Taciak
76. Nikolay Mihaylov





Photo source: