Vuelta Andalucia: David Rebellin 5th on the first stage

The winner of the first stage race Vuelta Andalucia (Cat. 2.1) was Sojasun, Jonathan Hivert cyclist. Davide Rebellin finished in 5th place.

On the second day of competition cyclists conquer the route length of 163.9 km, which ran from San Fernando to Ubrique. During this stage of the route, were shown the first step a very demanding uphills under Puerto de las Palomas (1220 m), which was the first bonus. Previously, riders overcame two slightly smaller uphills where there were three categories of bonuses.

Stage began calmly enough. After driving about 20 kilometers in the peloton began the first attack and the three cyclists were able to escape. These were: Preben Van Hecke (Topsport Vlaanderen), Enzo Moyano (Caja Rural) and Luis Mas (Burgos-BH). The peloton did not react much to the runaways, who cooperate and gained seconds of advantage.

After passing the second mountain premium advantage of three was about 4 minutes. 120-kilometer route began on the 14th kilometer uphill Puerto de las Palomas. Peloton accelerated considerably with the result that created a rather large group of cyclists which in the uphill quickly began to catch runaways. When the advantage began to decrease Van Hecke started to attack, leaving the lead. He arrived alone on a line of premium mountain but was quickly swallowed up by a large group.

After defeating the mountain bonus, the last 40 km route is practically downhill to the finish in Ubrique. Then a group of 21 cyclists rode first, including Race leader Alejandro Valverde. In the group also rode Davide Rebellin (CCC Polsat Polkowice). A high rate of driving the conventions imposed on the group was so successful that they managed to get to the finish line by playing with each other finish.

The first finished Jonathan Hivert (Sojasun), beating race leader Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Bauke Mollema (Blanco). Davide Rebellin finished on a high, 5 position.

In the general classification the leader becomes Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), whois about 7 seconds. ahead of Jurgen Van den Broeck (Lotto-BELISOL) and 11 sec. Baukea Mollema (Blanco).

Davide Rebellin got 11 position with a loss 30 seconds to the leader.


The result of 1st stage, San Fernando – Ubrique, 163,9 km

1. Jonathan Hivert (Sojasun) 4;06:46

2. Alejandro Valverde (MoviStar Team)

3. Bauke Mollema (Blanco)

5. Davide Rebellin

84. Bartłomiej Matysiak 11:08

99. Jacek Morajko 17:42

100. Marek Rutkiewicz

102. Jarosław Marycz

107. Adrian Kurek

117. Grzegorz Stępniak